Tourism Awards Presented at City Hall

Tuesday, May 29, 2018 - 6:45 PM

Today St. John’s City Council and staff welcomed tourism leaders from throughout the city to the annual Tourism Awards presentation at City Hall. The awards recognize individuals, groups and businesses for their outstanding contributions to the tourism industry in providing a unique and quality experience.

“Tourism plays an increasingly important role in the City’s economy and for the province as a whole,” said Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O’Leary, lead on Economic Development, Tourism and Culture. “Today’s award winners represent the best of the best who help provide remarkable experiences and lifetime memories for visitors to our city.”

The Discovery Award for offering new or innovative tourism-related services was presented to Kayla Walters of St. John’s Beer Tours.

The Signal Award for significant contributions to the cruise ship industry was presented to Dennis O’Keefe, former Chair of both Cruise St. John’s and Cruise Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Sport Tourism Award for hosting a sporting event that made significant contributions to the tourism industry was presented to the 2017 Tim Horton’s Brier Host Committee.

The Event of the Year Award for exemplifying the spirit of St. John’s and generating tourism visitation was presented to the Brigus Production Company for the Iceberg Alley Performance Tent.

The Legend Award is the City’s pinnacle award for contribution to the enhancement of tourism in St. John’s and was presented to Spirit of Newfoundland.

During the ceremony St. John’s tourism partner Destination St. John’s presented its annual Award of Distinction to the Canadian Society of Association Executives’ conference and showcase, hosted locally by Leon Mills the Executive Director of the Canadian Hard of Hearing Association.

Information on all recipients is contained in the attached backgrounder.
Media Contact:
Kelly Maguire
Media Relations
City of St. John's