News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 2:00pm
Due to the Thanksgiving Day holiday on Monday, Oct. 14 all City offices and facilities will be closed. There is no waste collection on Monday, Oct. 14.
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 - 1:15pm
The City of St. John’s is changing lane designations at the Kelsey Drive, Goldstone Street and Team Gushue Highway (TGH) interchange, to improve traffic flow in the area.
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 - 3:45pm
The City of St. John’s recently mailed a portion of the 2020 Notices of Assessment to property owners, showing an incorrect base date of January 1, 2020. The correct base date is January 1, 2017.
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 - 1:15pm
City Council voted to revise committee assignments for the next two years. These changes strive to improve efficiency at the committee level and enhance overall governance and accountability.
Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 5:30pm
Open houses take place at the West End, Mount Pearl and Paradise Fire Stations from 2-5 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 5 to celebrate Fire Prevention Week.
Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 2:15pm
On Friday, Sept. 27 a planned power outage at City Hall will impact City services until 9 a.m. on Sunday, Sept. 29. The City is working on a maintenance project.
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 6:00pm
The Newfoundland Growlers and the St. John’s Edge announced today that they have reached an Agreement in Principle for a 10 year lease extension with the City of St. John’s and SJSEL.
Monday, September 23, 2019 - 12:00pm
City Council has recently approved a parcel of land for potential redevelopment as affordable housing at 28 Eric Street which includes the Eric Street Community Garden.
Sunday, September 22, 2019 - 3:45pm
The damaged section of Allandale Road is temporarily repaired to allow traffic flow; the southbound curb lane remains closed until paving is completed this week.
Monday, September 16, 2019 - 3:00pm
The City of St. John's and St. John's Sports and Entertainment Ltd. (SJSEL) would like to provide an update on the current offer to the Edge and the Growlers.
Friday, September 6, 2019 - 12:45pm
A ‘What We Heard’ document from the second phase of public engagement for the Public Transit Review was released today.
Tuesday, September 3, 2019 - 4:45pm
The Fire Department is asking motorists to avoid Mount Scio Road due to safety and traffic concerns related to a fire in the area. Traffic is becoming congested.
Thursday, August 29, 2019 - 5:00pm
Due to the Labour Day holiday on Monday, September 2 all City offices and facilities will be closed. There is no waste collection on Labour Day.
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 - 4:45pm
The City’s Ticketing By-Law Amendment is to address issues with vehicles parking in timed parking areas in excess of the set time limit. The fine for parking illegally in a timed free area is $50.
Monday, August 26, 2019 - 1:30pm
The City of St. John’s is engaging with the public on the redesign of the organization’s website. An online survey, available at engagestjohns.ca.
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 - 5:00pm
On Monday, August 19, City Council awarded a contract for the supply of new pay stations and parking meters to Cale Canada in partnership with EDC Corporation.
Friday, August 16, 2019 - 2:45pm
Public engagement on a proposed replacement location for the H.G.R Mews Community Centre at Mundy Pond Park took place in July. The ‘What We Heard’ document is now available online.
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 - 2:00pm
Feedback will be considered by recreation staff in determining future programs, services, courses and events that will be offered at the Kenmount Terrace Community Centre.
Monday, August 5, 2019 - 5:00pm
The City is reminding motorists to be mindful and respectful when driving, especially through residential neighborhoods.
Monday, August 5, 2019 - 11:45am
Residents are advised that all City offices are closed during the Royal St. John’s Regatta holiday.
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 - 3:15pm
The watermain in various areas of the city is scheduled for cleaning and structural lining from Aug. to Nov. 2019.
Thursday, July 25, 2019 - 12:30pm
In partnership with the City of St. John’s, Canadian Tire Jumpstart Charities announced today plans to build a universally accessible playground in Mundy Pond Park.
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 - 4:15pm
A Decision Note regarding the future of using phone-only payment on Harbour Drive will be presented and discussed at the upcoming Committee of the Whole meeting on Wed. July 24 in Council Chambers.
Friday, July 19, 2019 - 2:15pm
The City of St. John’s is hosting a public information session about the Anglican Cathedral of St. John the Baptist’s application to build a new multi-purpose annex at 16 Church Hill.
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 - 12:30pm
The public are invited to one of two engagement sessions to provide feedback on a new proposed site location for the replacement of the H.G.R. Mews Community Centre at Mundy Pond Park.

Pages