News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Friday, April 27, 2018 - 6:30pm
Residents and business owners in Shea Heights are advised of significant infrastructure improvements to Linegar Avenue with construction starting Monday, April 30 until mid November 2018.
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 5:15am
The City, in partnership with Eastern Edge Gallery, have unveiled a new mural on Queen’s Road by artist Jordan Bennett.
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 4:30pm
Today, City Council awarded grant contributions totaling more than $500,000 in the form of direct cash grants and waiving of permits fees for local non-profit groups and organizations.
Friday, April 20, 2018 - 3:15pm
The City is currently reviewing existing traffic circulation & restrictions between Portugal Cove Road and King’s Bridge Road. An important part of the process is getting feedback from residents.
Friday, April 20, 2018 - 11:00am
Beginning May 1 yard waste including grass, leaves, soil, sod, and small branches must be in paper yard waste bags, for curbside collection.
Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:45pm
On Tuesday, April 24, construction work will progress to the intersection of Bishop’s Cove/Adelaide Street and Water Street as part of the five-year project to rehabilitate underground infrastructure.
Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 4:30pm
Due to St. George’s Day holiday on Monday, April 23, most City offices and facilities will be closed.
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 5:00pm
On Thursday, April 19, the City of St. John’s will exercise its Emergency Management Plan in partnership with the St. John’s Regional Fire Department (SJRFD) and other emergency partners.
Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 2:00pm
Today, over 100 volunteers attended a Volunteer Week reception at the Paul Reynolds Community Centre, an annual event hosted by the City of St. John’s in partnership with the Memorial.
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 1:30pm
Today, the City of St. John’s and Happy City St. John’s announced a collaboration to enter into the Canadian Smart Cities Challenge, an initiative of the federal government.
Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 2:15pm
A water transmission main replacement project on Portugal Cove Road is scheduled to start the first week of April and will continue until late fall 2018.
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 5:00pm
Due to the Good Friday holiday all City offices and facilities will be closed on Friday, March 30. Garbage (5A/5B) and recycling (5A) collection is moved to Saturday, March 31.
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 1:30pm
On Monday, April 2, construction will begin at the intersection of Queen Street and Water Street for the first phase of a five-year project to rehabilitate underground infrastructure.
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 7:30pm
Winter Overnight Parking Restrictions Lifted
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 3:15pm
The first phase of the new automated garbage collection program is starting Monday, June 11 for approximately one third of City households. Carts and important information will be delivered in May.
Friday, March 23, 2018 - 2:15pm
The watermain in the Rabbittown area is scheduled for cleaning and structural lining from April to December 2018 in order to reduce maintenance issues and improve water service.
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 1:45pm
City Council have voted in favour of a decision that will see all shelter cats spayed or neutered prior to being adopted from the Animal Care and Adoption Centre.
Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 6:15pm
Due to St. Patrick’s Day holiday all City offices and facilities will be closed on Monday, March 19.
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 6:30pm
The City of St. John's is seeking nominations for the annual Senior of the Year Award. If you know a special person (age 60 plus) who deserves recognition please complete a form.
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 2:00pm
The City of St. John’s, the St. John’s Local Immigration Partnership, along with several community partners, are pleased to celebrate Multiculturalism Week, March 18 to 24.
Friday, March 9, 2018 - 1:45pm
The City of St. John's is seeking nominations for the annual Tourism Awards by 4 p.m. April 13, to be presented during National Tourism Week May 27 to June 2.
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 1:45pm
At 2 a.m. on Sunday, March 11 Standard Time returns to Daylight Savings Time. When you change your clocks also change your smoke alarm batteries - your life depends on it!
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 1:15pm
On Monday, March 5, City Council voted to approve $1,259,850 in grants to 174 community organizations and individuals, including 35 new applicants for 2018.
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 6:45pm
Today, St. John’s City Council voted to approve the Annual Capital Budget for 2018. The plan includes approximately $23 million for capital projects.
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 6:30pm
Today, City Council voted to award the tender for the first phase of a five year project to rehabilitate water and sewer infrastructure on Water Street. Work is set to begin in early April.

Pages